Grown

I am four weeks away from turning 26 and I have been thinking a lot about how I have grown as a person over the last year. I would say the past 12 months have been the most progressive.

I think the most important life lesson I have learnt is to enjoy what ever comes your way. Take the positives from everything. Life has a wonderful way of balancing itself out. The good and the bad are intertwined and being calm and measured towards everything is the best way to react to anything.

I have also realised that I am at the age where many of my friends are settling down with their better halves and laying the groundwork for their futures. As noted before, I am not a person that looks to settle down. I am happy with this as my plans revolve around me travelling more and not setting up in one specific place for a long time. I have learnt that it is a glorious feeling to do it you own way – your journey through life is what YOU make of it.

One other observation I have made is that I have still never been in a relationship longer that has lasted longer than three months. Some people could point to being a ‘f*ck boy’ or others could simply label me as picky. I wouldn’t say I should be tarnished with either of those brushes.

I am no oil painting, and I do not have a string of women at my beckoning call but I do know that settling for somebody for the sake of not being lonely is not worth the hassle. It is also not fair on the other person who has not settled and they are invested in this relationship and being deprived of something more pure.

I feel people should learn to fall in love on accident. Some people want it too bad and they miss the best parts. And in a lot of cases it ultimately goes wrong further down the line and people can end up resenting one and other.

Anyway, I hope you all have a good weekend and I will have another post up in the next few days.

P.S. Never settle.

Leave a Reply

