Only One Sin

“There is only one sin, only one. And that is theft. Every other sin is a variation of theft. When you kill a man, you steal a life… you steal his wife’s right to a husband, rob his children of a father. When you tell a lie, you steal someone’s right to the truth. When you cheat, you steal the right to fairness… there is no act more wretched than stealing.”

– Khaled Hosseini, The Kite Runner

I’m not sure why this resonated with me so much. When I was sat in the park reading this book yesterday I stopped to think about what I had just read. I am amazed that I have never had this perspective of theft and sins.

This will be the the first thing I ingrain into my children – well, that and the fact to remember we are all pink on the inside. I hope they they will remember this before they make rash or selfish decisions.

As for myself, this quote seems to be a timely reminder that I need to adjust my moral compass. Of late I have been guilty of this sin. I have deceived people and I have lied. Ultimately by doing this I have not only cheated various people, I have cheated myself out of precious time for a momentary fix.

Hopefully after this period of reflection that I will remember to be less self absorbed. I also hope that I learn to have more consideration for other people in my decision making.

One thought on “Only One Sin

  1. Great book. Great to see you putting your interpretations on quotes. Very interesting to see what you take from them.

Leave a Reply

